ICES Honors Faculty, Staff, Student at Annual Award Ceremony

ICES 2013 annual awards ceremony July 17 honored 12 exceptional faculty and staff who personify the high standards for teaching, research and administration central to ICES work.

The 2013 ICES Distinguished Research Award recipient is Inderjit Dhillon, an ICES core faculty member, and professor of computer science. His innovative approaches to large-scale data mining and machine learning have consistently earned him and his students international best paper prizes, as well as the attention of industry who quickly adopt his work. His most recent work applies the social networking algorithms used by Facebook to linking genes to disease.

The 2013 ICES Staff Excellence Awardee recipient is Stewart Stafford, systems and network senior systems analyst.

The 2013 Graham F. Carey Undergraduate Scholarship in Computational Sciences recipient is Max Bremer, a junior with a dual major in mathematics and aerospace engineering and engineering mechanics honors.

Four University Service Award recipients who work for ICES were recognized: Kay Brown, administrative associate, for 30 years of service; Mojdeh Delshad, research associate professor, for 25 years of service; Sue Hennigar, administrative assistant, for 10 years of service; and Lorraine Sanchez, administrative services officer II, for 30 years of service.

The previously announced five 2013 Moncrief Grand Challenge Awardees were also recognized: Jim Chelikowsky, Leszek Demkowicz, Venkat Ganesan, Chad Landis, and Ali Yilmaz.

Posted: July 16, 2013