Engquist elected to prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Engquist

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences announced this week the election of ICES mathematician Björn Engquist.

“We are delighted Bjorn has been elected into the prestigious AAAS," said ICES Director J. Tinsley Oden. "This is fitting recognition of his sterling international reputation as a leader in computational and applied mathematics.

"The announcement comes shortly after the news of another international award bestowed on Engquist, the prestigious Pioneer Award, given by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics."

Engquist 's numerical tools are used in areas ranging from homeland security to image processing to oil-reservoir modeling.

Engquist holds the Computational and Applied Mathematics Chair, and is director of the ICES Center for Numerical Analysis.

One of the nation's most prestigious honorary societies, the academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, global security and international affairs, social policy and American institutions, and the humanities, arts and education.

Members of the 2015 class include winners of the Nobel Prize and the Pulitzer Prize; MacArthur and Guggenheim fellowships; and Grammy, Emmy, Oscar, and Tony awards.

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony Oct. 10 at the academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

The list of the new members is available online.

Engquist joins five other ICES core faculty previously elected to AAAS membership: Luis Caffarelli, Thomas Hughes, Tinsley Oden, William Press, and Mary Wheeler.

Posted: April 23, 2015