ICES Board Of Visitors

The ICES Board of Visitors consists of internationally recognized leaders from academia, industry, and government laboratories. The charge of the Board is to conduct external reviews of ICES operations and provide advice on strategic plans and major policy issues. The current Board members include the following:

John BellJohn Bell - Department Head, Mathematics and Computational Science Department; Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
John B. Bell received his Ph.D. in Mathematics from Cornell University. He is currently the Head of the Mathematics and Computational Science Department, and the Group Leader of the Center for Computational Sciences and Engineering at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. He is serves as Deputy Director of the Combustion Exascale Co-Design Center. He was one of the founders and is the current managing editor of Communications in Applied Mathematics and Computational Science. John works on the development and analysis of numerical methods for partial differential equations arising in science and engineering. General topics in scientific computing, computational physics, and fluid dynamics. John was elected to the National Academy of Sciences.


Peter Flawn Peter T. Flawn - President Emeritus, University of Texas at Austin
Peter T. Flawn retired as President of The University of Texas at Austin in 1985 and was named President Emeritus by the Board of Regents, one of only two officials to be given the title "emeritus." He received his Ph.D. in geology from Yale University in 1951 and is prominent as a geologist, educator, author, and consultant. He served in the U. S. Army Air Corps during World War II. During his six-year term as president, sponsored research awards grew to $100 million, and five new research buildings were built. The number of National Merit Scholars was second only to Harvard, and eighteen UT graduate programs were ranked in the top twenty. The University of Texas became the subject of favorable articles in Forbes, Time, the New York Times, and the Washington Post. With a reputation as a good bargain, enrollment swelled to 48,000. The Academic Center was renamed the Peter T. Flawn Academic Center in his honor in 1985.


David HibbittDavid Hibbitt - Founder and Former Chairman, ABAQUS, Inc.

David Hibbitt received his Ph.D. in Engineering from Brown University. He founded Hibbitt, Karlsson & Sorensen, Inc, in 1978 (now ABAQUS, Inc.). He began his career in engineering with Associated Electrical Industries Ltd. of Manchester, England, working on the design of large steam turbines for electrical power generation. From 1972 to 1977 he worked for the Marc Analysis Research Corporation, where he was responsible for the development of the Marc finite element program.

He has served on advisory committees that assisted the Office of Naval Research, and Sandia National Laboratory, in evaluating their research programs in engineering mechanics, and currently serves on the executive council of the US Association for Computational Mechanics, on the North American advisory committee for NAFEMS, an organization that promotes reliability and quality in computational mechanics applications, and on the advisory council for Brown University's division of Engineering. In 2013 he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering.


Justine JohannesJustine Johannes - Director, Engineering Sciences Center at Sandia National Laboratories

Dr. Justine Johannes is the Director of the Engineering Sciences Center at Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque, New Mexico. The Engineering Sciences Center is an organization of approximately 400 employees committed to supporting Sandia’s national security mission by integrating theory, computational simulation, and experimental discovery and validation across length and time scales to understand and predict the behavior of complex physical phenomena and systems. Justine started her career at Sandia in the Engineering Sciences Center in 1994 after completing her Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering from the Colorado School of Mines and her Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from the University of Texas at Austin. Her early career focused on chemical kinetics and integration of verification and validation of predictive capabilities. In 2005, she was promoted to Senior Manager in the Materials Science and Engineering Center (Center 1800) where she was responsible for research, development and application engineering of new materials and processes, and for connecting the materials expertise to programs in multiple business units. In 2010, Justine moved to the Nuclear Weapons Science & Technology Program Center as the program manager for the Advanced Simulation and Computing program. As program manager, Justine worked effectively to connect ASC funded work to NW mission needs, support foundational research and development, and champion partnerships within and outside the lab. In 2012, Justine returned to the Engineering Sciences Center as Senior Manager of the Solid Mechanics and Structural Dynamics group, before taking on her new role as the Center Director in 2013.


Ed SiedelEd Seidel - National Center for Supercomputing Applications at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Founder Professor, Department of Physics; Professor, Department of Astronomy.

H. Edward Seidel is a distinguished researcher in high-performance computing and relativity and astrophysics with an outstanding track record as an administrator. In addition to leading NCSA, he is also a Founder Professor in the University of Illinois Department of Physics and a professor in the Department of Astronomy. His previous leadership roles include serving as the senior vice president for research and innovation at the Skolkovo Institute of Science and Technology in Moscow, directing the Office of Cyberinfrastructure and serving as assistant director for Mathematical and Physical Sciences at the U.S. National Science Foundation, and leading the Center for Computation & Technology at Louisiana State University. He also led the numerical relativity group at the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics (Albert Einstein Institute) in Germany. Seidel is a fellow of the American Physical Society and of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, as well as a member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. His research has been recognized by a number of awards, including the 2006 IEEE Sidney Fernbach Award, the 2001 Gordon Bell Prize, and 1998 Heinz-Billing-Award. He earned a master’s degree in physics at the University of Pennsylvania in 1983 and a doctorate in relativistic astrophysics at Yale University in 1988.


Karen WillcoxKaren E. Willcox - Co-Director, Center for Computational Engineering; Professor and Associate Department Head, Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Karen Willcox is Professor in the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics, the Co-Director of the Center for Computational Engineering, and the Associate Department Head at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She received her Ph.D. in Aeronautics and Astronautics in 2000 from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Karen’s research interests involve computational simulation and optimization of engineering systems, with specific contributions in model reduction of large-scale systems and multidisciplinary design optimization, as well as reduced-order modeling, uncertainty quantification, aircraft system design, data to decisions in aerospace systems. Her teaching interests involve the principles of automatic control, multidisciplinary system design optimization, computational methods in aerospace engineering.